Image 1 of 1


Wooded hills surrounding the village of Kenmore seen from above Loch Tay in central Scotland. Established in 1919 as the Forestry Commission, is was a non-ministerial Government Department responsible for forestry in Great Britain. Its mission was to protect and expand Britain's forests and woodlands and increase their value to society and the environment. In 2005, it managed 7,720 square kilometres of land in Great Britain, the majority of which (60%) was in Scotland.