Image 1 of 1


A small fishing boat sails out of the harbour in the Faroe Islands' capital Tórshavn. The Faroes, a group of 18 islands between the Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean became an autonomous region of the Kingdom of Denmark in 1948. At the start of the 21st century the population stood at around 50,000 with the economy relying almost entirely on aquaculture and fishing.